Subscribe

ZUGFeRD: E-Invoicing with PDF Documents

 ZUGFeRDElectronic invoicing (E-Invoicing) is an increasingly common way to bill goods and services. Compared to the classical paper invoice, it helps to save time (for example for the creation, transport and processing of the invoice document), costs, and other resources. On the other hand, the current situation is characterized by the fact that E-Invoicing still lacks general standards for processing invoices that are easy to apply for the invoicing party and for the bill-to party alike. This is especially true for the normal case of business operations, which often sees parties with differences in billing infrastructure (billing and accounting system software) and divergent organization structure.

In order to overcome the obstacles mentioned above, the German organization FeRD (Forum elektronische Rechnung Deutschland e. V.) has been founded to develop and establish an appropriate standard. FeRD works as a hub to link the key players and interested companies in the field of E-Invoicing. Details on the current state of the developed standard (ZUGFeRD format) are available on the FeRD website.

What does ZUGFeRD stand for?

ZUGFeRD (German language acronym for „Zentraler User Guide Forum elektronische Rechnung Deutschland“, i. e. „Central User Guide Forum electronic Invoice Germany“) is a digital data format. It combines a printable invoice (PDF/A-3 file as visual representation of the invoice data as digital media format instead of the corresponding paper invoice) with an embedded XML file that presents the invoice data in a specifically structured way. This special data structure enables billing and accounting applications to read information like for example the invoice amount, date or number in a standardized way and to process this data. The overall goal is to further develop elaborate ways of working with invoices without having to switch media, for example between paper and computer data. In the long run, the concept aims at replacing the existing OCR recognition methods. Since 2014, the standard is developed by a cooperation between FeRD, various private organizations, companies and government departments.

Like PDF/A-1 and PDF/A-2, PDF/A-3 is a special type of PDF format. All three formats may be used for the long-term archiving of documents. The distinctive feature of PDF/A-3: it allows to embed any other file type into the PDF/A file. Therefore, it is possible to embed XML files. The PDF/A-3 specification has been published in October 2012.

XML files are a special type of text files, since they save data in a hierarchically structured way. The structure allows various applications (e.g. billing and accounting system software) to read the data from these files.

How does soft Xpansion support the ZUGFeRD format?

Soft Xpansion is an active FeRD member. The developer tool PDF Xpansion SDK 12 offers powerful ZUGFeRD functionality. It enables software developers to implement the creation and processing of various PDF formats and of the ZUGFeRD format into their own applications. Thus, the end user does not need any additional programs to work with these formats.

The ZUGFeRD API of PDF Xpansion SDK 12 allows E-Invoicing with the following features:

  • Reading and comprehensive validation of incoming ZUGFeRD files (electronic invoices)
  • Read structured and unstructured invoice data
  • Display and / or print the PDF part of invoice in PDF viewer
  • Save outgoing invoices as ZUGFeRD compliant files (including conversion of visual part of the invoice to PDF/A-3 format and saving invoice data in embedded XML attachment)
  • Support of all ZUGFeRD profiles: Basic, Comfort, Extended
  • PDF/A-3 conversion from
    • existing PDF files
    • existing XPS or OXPS files
    • text files
    • dynamic PDF pages
    • scanned paper documents (images)

Detailed information is available on the PDF Xpansion SDK web site.

FacebookYoutubeTwitterGoogle PlusLinkedin

Abonnieren

ZUGFeRD: Elektronische Rechnungen in PDF-Dokumenten

ZUGFeRDElektronische Rechnungen sind ein zunehmend verbreiteter Weg, im Geschäftsverkehr Leistungen abzurechnen. Gegenüber der klassischen Papierrechnung spart man Zeit (u. a. für Transport und Verarbeitung) und damit Kosten sowie andere Ressourcen. Was bisher allerdings fehlt, sind allgemein anerkannte, einheitliche und in der Praxis sehr einfach anwendbare Standards, nach denen Rechnungssteller und Rechnungsempfänger beliebiger Größe und Organisationsstruktur die Rechnungsdaten schnell und komfortabel verarbeiten können. Dies gilt vor allem für den (Regel-)Fall, dass beide Seiten nicht dieselbe Fakturierungs- und Buchhaltungssoftware verwenden.

Die Vereinigung FeRD (Forum elektronische Rechnung Deutschland e. V.) hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, interessierte Akteure zu vernetzen, um einen solchen Standard zu entwickeln und zu etablieren. Grundlegende Details zu den Aktivitäten rund um den ZUGFeRD-Standard und das entsprechende Datenformat finden Sie auf den Web-Seiten des FeRD.

Was ist das ZUGFeRD-Format?

Das ZUGFeRD-Format (Zentraler User Guide Forum elektronische Rechnung Deutschland) kombiniert eine PDF/A-3-Datei der Rechnung (visuelle Darstellung der Rechnungsdaten als digitales Medienformat anstelle der klassischen Papierrechnung) mit einer integrierten Rechnungsdatei im XML-Format, die in das PDF/A-3-Dokument eingebettet ist. Dieses Rechnungsdatenformat erlaubt ein standardisiertes Auslesen von Daten wie Rechnungsbetrag, Rechnungsnummer usw. und die damit verbundene Nutzung in nachgelagerten Prozessen. Ziel ist die konsequente Weiterentwicklung der medienbruchfreien Verarbeitung von Rechnungsdaten. Die bisher übliche OCR-Erkennung (Optical Character Recognition) soll damit langfristig ersetzt werden. Das Format wird von dem FeRD in Kooperation mit Verbänden, Ministerien und Unternehmen entwickelt und ist im Jahr 2014 erstmals vorgestellt worden.

PDF/A-3 ist, wie auch PDF/A-1 und PDF/A-2, ein spezielles Unterformat von PDF. Die PDF/A-Formate können für Zwecke der Langzeitarchivierung verwendet werden. Die Besonderheit von PDF/A-3 ist, dass bei dieser Spezifikation beliebige andere Dateien in die PDF/A-Datei eingebettet werden können, also auch XML-Dateien. Die Spezifikation PDF/A-3 wurde im Oktober 2012 veröffentlicht.

XML-Dateien sind spezielle Textdateien, in denen Daten hierarchisch strukturiert abgelegt werden können und so für eine Vielzahl von Software-Anwendungen lesbar sind, unter anderem für die zuvor erwähnte Fakturierungs- und Buchhaltungssoftware.

Wie unterstützt soft Xpansion das ZUGFeRD-Format?

soft Xpansion ist Mitglied des FeRD und bietet in seinem Entwickler-Tool PDF Xpansion SDK 11 umfangreiche ZUGFeRD-Funktionen. Mit dem PDF Xpansion SDK 11 können Software-Entwickler diverse PDF-Formate sowie das ZUGFeRD-Format in ihre eigenen Anwendungen integrieren, sodass die Nutzer keine zusätzliche Software mehr benötigen, um die genannten Formate verwenden (erstellen, anzeigen, bearbeiten) zu können.

Die ZUGFeRD-Implementierung im PDF Xpansion SDK 11 ermöglicht die elektronische Rechnungsverarbeitung wie folgt:

  • ZUGFeRD-Dateien lesen und umfassend validieren
  • Neue Rechnungen erstellen und über ZUGFeRD-konforme Dateien als eingebettete XML-Anlage speichern
  • Unterstützung der drei Profiltypen Basic, Comfort und Extended
  • PDF/A-3-Umwandlung aus

- bestehender PDF-Datei
- bestehender XPS-/OXPS-Datei
- Text
- dynamisch erstellten PDF-Seiten
- gescanntem Papierdokument (Bild)

 Detaillierte Informationen rufen Sie auf der PDF Xpansion SDK-Webseite ab.

TwitterFacebookGoogle PlusLinkedin