CAD Xpansion SDK

Export, Import and Geometry Recognition for 3D Models with STEP, IGES and STL

CAD Xpansion SDKThe CAD Xpansion SDK is a library for software developers. It enables software manufacturers to implement the possibility to export 3D models into universal data exchange formats (STEP, IGES, STL) directly in their CAD, CAM, PDM and CAE Solutions, as well as import of 3D models and geometry recognition for certain models.

STL is often described as the established de-facto standard format for 3D printing. STEP (STandard for the Exchange of Product model data) is an international standard, defined in ISO 10303, for the description and exchange of product data in CAD solutions. IGES (Initial Graphics Exchange Specification) is also a data format for data exchange between different CAD systems. Applications that support these formats provide the users with a high flexibility during their work with 3D models that have been created in different original (source) applications.

The library provides a large number of program functions for the design of machine elements and assemblies in mechanical design, building construction, etc. It is also possible to create arbitrary assemblies based on separate elements. The import of CAD models and geometry recognition for certain parts are possible as well.

Content at a Glance

3D models export functionality in your own program:

  • Creation of various 3D models in mechanical design and building units: basic geometric objects, shaft elements, pinions, bearings, bolts, screw-nuts, beams, etc. Full list of currently supported units you see in the CAD Xpansion SDK Guide & Reference
  • Export of created 3D models to the universal formats STEP, IGES, STL
  • Creation and export of complex units using operations like transformation, subtraction, unification, intersection, etc.

CAD Xpansion SDK lets you to implement in your program:

  • Import of any 3D CAD model from files in STEP, IGES, STL formats
  • Display of the loaded model and basic visual operations like zoom, rotation, selection of model objects, delete objects, etc.
  • Recognition of the geometry of 3D shaft models in mechanical design according to the German DIN 743
  • Recognition of shaft elements independent of DIN 743, determination of the general geometric properties
  • Recognition of other part models in mechanical design – while the library is developed further and is enhanced

What About Trying?TRIAL VERSION


In order to test the performance and the functionality of the CAD Xpansion SDK, you can download the documentation (CAD Xpansion SDK Guide & Reference), a trial version of SDK and a simple test application: CAD Xpansion Viewer. The test application can be also found in the SDK subfolder “TestApp”. It offers a couple of examples that can be converted and saved in the STEP and IGES data formats. Import and visualization of other ready models from STEP, IGES, STL as well as shaft geometry recognition are possible as well, the example files are available. If you have any questions, please contact our support desk.

Guide & ReferenceGUIDE & REFERENCE


Download the CAD Xpansion SDK Guide and read more about the functionality and properties. In addition, you can download a trial version here.

Availability and Price

The CAD Xpansion library can be ordered directly from soft Xpansion. The base price is 1000,- EUR plus VAT, if applicable. The amounts for individually ordered parts (e.g. shaft, gear or beam) will be added to the base price. If any part is not available in the current version of the library, it can be created on request according to the clients´ specifications. Please send us your request by Mail or call us at +49 (0) 234 2984171.

Case Study: Export of modeled Gearbox Elements or complete Gearbox Designs into the STEP Format in MDESIGN gearbox

CAD STEP export - 3 steps

Export 3D models in three simple steps and process them in all widespread CAD systems, simulating programs and viewers. Click on the CAD/Step export button in the ribbon menu of MDESIGN gearbox, select the element to be exported, define file name and path of the STEP file to be saved. The only condition is a kinematically ready model in MDESIGN gearbox.

STEP files created with the CAD Xpansion SDK can be displayed in all tested CAD systems and CAD viewers: Autodesk Inventor Professional 2015, SpaceClaim Engineer 2014, Delcam Exchange 2014 R4, 3D-Tool, Catia, SolidWorks, SolidEdge, NX und Creo. For example, Delcam Exchange 2014 R4 displays imported content like this:

Display a STEP model© DriveConcepts GmbH

System Requirements and License Conditions

CAD Xpansion SDK

Export, Import und Geometrie-Erkennung für 3D-Modelle mit STEP, IGES und STL

CAD Xpansion SDKDas CAD Xpansion SDK ist eine Entwickler-Bibliothek, mit der Software-Hersteller ihre CAD-, CAM-, PDM- und CAE-Lösungen mit der Möglichkeit ausstatten können, 3D-Modelle in die universellen Datenaustausch-Formate STEP, IGES, STL zu exportieren, 3D-Modelle aus Dateien zu importieren und eine Geometrie-Erkennung (z. Z. Welle) durchzuführen.

Das STL-Format wird häufig als eines der ältesten und am meisten verbreiteten Dateiformate für 3D-Druck bezeichnet, das für diesen Anwendungsbereich zudem den aktuellen Industriestandard darstellt. STEP (STandard for the Exchange of Product model data) ist ein internationaler, in der ISO Norm 10303 definierter Standard zur Beschreibung und zum Austausch von Produktdaten. IGES (Initial Graphics Exchange Specification) ist ein Dateiformat, mit dem herstellerübergreifend Informationen zwischen CAD-Systemen ausgetauscht werden können. Applikationen, die diese Formate unterstützen, bieten den Anwendern eine große Flexibilität bei der Arbeit mit 3D-Modellen, da sie ermöglichen, dreidimensionale Grafiken aus unterschiedlichen Ursprungsanwendungen zu betrachten.

Die Bibliothek bietet zum einen eine große Anzahl an Programmierfunktionen für das Design von Elementen und Baugruppen für Maschinenbau, Baukonstruktion und allgemeine Konstruktion. Zum anderen ermöglicht sie, beliebige Baugruppen aus den einzelnen Elementen zusammenzustellen. Import von CAD-Modellen und Geometrie-Erkennung für bestimmte Bauteile sind ebenfalls möglich.

Funktionen und Inhalte auf einen Blick

Folgende Funktionalität steht Ihnen für den Export von 3D-Modellen zur Verfügung:

  • Erstellung von verschiedenen 3D-Modellen für Maschinenelemente und Bauelemente: grundlegende geometrische Figuren, Wellen, Stirnräder, Wälzlager, Gleitlager, Schrauben und Muttern,  Träger, etc. Die komplette Liste der  z. Z. unterstützten Bauteile finden Sie in der CAD Xpansion SDK Guide & Reference
  • Export der erstellten 3D-Modelle in die universellen Formate STEP, IGES, STL
  • Erstellung und Export von komplexen Baugruppen mit Aktionen wie Transformation, Subtraktion, Vereinigung, Überschneidung, etc.

Das CAD Xpansion SDK bietet Ihnen außerdem folgende Funktionen für Import- und Erkennung:

  • Import von beliebigen 3D-CAD-Modellen aus STEP-, IGES-, STL-Dateien
  • Anzeige des importierten Modells und grundlegende Funktionen wie Zoomen, Drehen, Auswahl von Modell-Elementen, Entfernen von Elementen, etc.
  • Erkennung der 3D-Wellengeometrie nach DIN 743
  • Erkennung von 3D-Wellenelementen außerhalb von DIN 743, Errechnung der geometrischen Haupteigenschaften
  • Erkennung von anderen Modellen im Laufe der Weiterentwicklung der Bibliothek

Möchten Sie testen?TESTVERSION


Um die Performance und die Funktionen des CAD Xpansion SDK zu testen, können Sie eine ausführliche Dokumentation (CAD Xpansion SDK Guide & Reference), eine Testversion und die fertige Testanwendung CAD Xpansion Viewer herunterladen. Die Testanwendung befindet sich auch im SDK-Unterordner “TestApp”. Sie enthält einige Beispiele, die in STEP und IGES exportiert werden können. Import und Visualisierung von fertigen fremden Modellen aus STEP, IGES, STL sowie Geometrieerkennung für STEP-Modelle von Wellen sind ebenfalls möglich, die entsprechenden Beispiele sind vorhanden. Falls Sie Fragen haben, wenden Sie sich einfach an den Support. Wir freuen uns auf Sie!

Leitfaden & ReferenceLEITFADEN


Laden Sie den CAD Xpansion SDK-Leitfaden herunter und erfahren Sie mehr über die Funktionalität und Eigenschaften. Zusätzlich können Sie eine Testversion herunterladen.

Verfügbarkeit und Preis

Die CAD Xpansion-Bibliothek kann direkt bei Soft Xpansion bestellt werden. Der Grundpreis beträgt 1000,- EUR zzgl. MwSt. Hinzu kommen die Beträge für die jeweils vom Kunden individuell benötigten Bauteile (Preise auf Anfrage). Sollte ein Bauteil noch nicht in der Bibliothek vorhanden sein, wird es auf Kundenanforderung erstellt. Bitte senden Sie Ihre Anfrage per Email oder nehmen Sie unter +49 (0) 234 2984171 telefonisch Kontakt mit uns auf.

Anwendungsbeispiel: Export modellierter Getriebeelemente oder ganzer Getriebedesigns in das STEP-Format im Programm MDESIGN gearbox

CAD STEP-Export - 3 Schritte

In drei einfachen Schritten 3D-Modelle exportieren und in allen gängigen CAD-Systemen, Modelling-Programmen und Viewern weiterverwenden: Klick auf den CAD/Step-Export-Button im Ribbon-Menü von MDESIGN gearbox, Auswahl der zu exportierenden Elemente mittels grafischer Auswahl, Speicherort und Dateiname für STEP-Datei wählen. Bedingung ist ein kinematisch fertig aufgebautes Modell in MDESIGN gearbox.

Mit dem CAD Xpansion SDK erstellte STEP-Dateien können in allen getesteten CAD-Systemen und Viewern angesehen werden. Hierzu gehören Autodesk Inventor Professional 2015, SpaceClaim Engineer 2014, Delcam Exchange 2014 R4, 3D-Tool, Catia, SolidWorks, SolidEdge, NX and Creo.  In Delcam Exchange 2014 R4 sieht das beispielsweise so aus:

Darstellung eines STEP-Modells

© DriveConcepts GmbH

Systemvoraussetzungen und Lizenzbedingungen